The magic word

The Dutch are so peculiar about words. The other day I was at the market, where I saw avocados going for a euro for three pieces. Being the avocado-loving woman that I am, I went up to the stall and asked the man, in what sounded like perfectly normal Dutch to me, “Mag ik alstublieft drie avocados?”

He turned around to face me, pointed at me with both hands, winked, and said “You certainly can, because you used the magic word! Alsjeblieft!” I suppose I knew about ‘please’ being a magic word, but I never realised people took it this seriously, especially with people who are not, you know, their own young children. “Wonderful, thanks!” I told him. I couldn’t have impressed this man more with my politeness, because he beamed at me, saying “Another magic word! Have these for free”, and he chucked in three more avocados.

I guess more than the magic words, it may have been the fact that it was around six, the end of the working day, and that the avocados were pretty soft – maybe he was just going to throw them out. I’m not sure. But either way I was happy, because I do love avocados. As I mentioned, however, they were definitely on the soft side, so I couldn’t keep them long. I had one with breakfast, made some guacamole, but after that I still had a couple left. What to do? A girl can only eat so much guacamole. I googled around a bit and came upon the brilliant idea of combining avocado with chocolate to make a dead creamy, relatively un-unhealthy avocado chocolate pudding. This might sound weird to you. That’s OK. As long as you don’t let that weirdness stop you from trying this.

IMG_0077 IMG_0068

Per person, use the following, then just multiply with however many people you’re making these for:

  • 1 really soft avocado
  • 2 heaped tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3 to 4 tablespoons of honey (depending on how sweet you like it)
  • a handful of pecans

Stick the avocado(s), cocoa powder and honey in a blender, or, if you have a hand blender, stick the ingredients in a bowl and blend them like that.

IMG_0027

When it’s all pretty smooth, add about two thirds of the pecans and quickly give them a little grind. You want them in smallish pieces, but still recognisable for a little bit of crunch.

As for the topping, use the rest of the pecans. You can toast or caramelise them (which is what I did), or you can just leave them as they are.

IMG_0072 IMG_0058

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in cooking, Desserts, Food, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The magic word

  1. Joris says:

    Already becoming the highlight for people in your residence, are you!
    The recipe doesn’t sound weird to me at all, wouldn’t stop me from making it. Or even the pedantic aura you acquire from making raw food.

    Like

Leave a Reply

