The Emerald of the Equator, part IV: pisang goreng

Alright, alright, enough is enough. Last week’s gado gado, or what I tried to pass off as gado gado, was evidently a little bit too Dutch, because it earned me a schooling. That’s right, I got told off by an actual Indonesian, who gently said that my take on the dish looked nice enough, but it definitely wasn’t gado gado.

Ouch. I guess I knew, even before I posted it, that my attempts were pretty feeble, and I guess it was even part of the whole set-up… but that didn’t make it any less embarrassing. So that’s it. Enough is enough. I’m in full-on panic mode preparing for my holiday, anyway (I’m leaving tomorrow), so the rendang that I had planned is going to have to wait until I’m back and I actually know what I’m doing. Instead, let’s do something that really can’t go wrong: pisang goreng!

Pisang goreng are fried bananas, and seeing that those are pretty much what we’d call banana fritters around these parts, it’s something I feel confident I can more or less pull off. Tomorrow I’ll be off to Indonesia, where, hopefully, I’ll learn to cook some stuff that’s actually Indonesian. I’ll be back, if all goes according to plan, on the 7th of September. Until that time, I wish you all a lovely summer, and please do have a go at pisang goreng.

IMG_3515

For 2, you’ll need:

  • 2 or 3 bananas
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • enough water
  • a pinch of salt
  • a whole bunch of frying oil and a small, fairly sturdy pot (or, if you have one, just a deep-fryer will be much easier)

Pop your flour on a deep plate, mix in a little bit of water and stir until you get a homogenous paste without lumps. Now start mixing in more water plus that pinch of salt until you get a mixture that’s liquid enough to dip pieces of banana in, but thick enough to actually stick to the bananas.

Peel your bananas and cut them in halves or thirds, then half those bits lengthways. Dip the banana bits in the batter and deep-fry them.

IMG_3503

I have no idea what temperature we’re aiming for here, because I don’t have a deep-fryer – only that sturdy pot I mentioned earlier. To check whether your oil is hot enough, chuck in a single drop of batter – if it immediately comes floating back up, accompanied by plenty of sizeable bubbles, you should be OK.

Fry the bananas for a couple of minutes, then serve them on a bunch of funky-looking banana leaves, or just on a plate.

IMG_3524

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in cooking, Food, indonesian, recipes, sweet, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Emerald of the Equator, part IV: pisang goreng

  1. I love the fact that on a Wednesday night I will get a regular email from WordPress with your latest post whether its pisang goreng, gado gado or whatever its not the recipe (ish) its the obvious fun you have in writing and blogging

    Like

    • Well I’m very excited too! Shame that you subscribed just before my summer break, but I’ll be sure to make up for the absence once I’m back. Thanks for your interest and of course your kind comment!

      Like

      • I’ve been following your blog from the halcyon days you lived in sunny Glasgow that’s when it was sunny of course I thought I had subscribed bit as you would say in Nederlands WTF hope to pass through Milano in October on my way to ever so sunny Genoa

        Like

  2. Pingback: Return from the Emerald – at least we’ve still got the gado gado | La dittatrice della cucina

Leave a Reply

