Solving my trust issues with lemon curd

I have some serious trust issues, but only with myself. I don’t trust myself to be a well-organised and responsible individual. I expect to behave like an idiot, even if I’ve proven to myself by now that usually, I don’t. It happens quite frequently that I spend forever looking for my keys, or phone, or some other small but important item because I expect it to be lost in some godforsaken jacket pocket. After a fruitless search, I check the most likely place (most frequently used bag or desk), and what do you know, often it’s right there where it should have been, right where I, a responsible individual, put it. But I just don’t trust myself to be that organised. I expect chaos from myself. In the same category, going back into the house just after closing the front door to make sure I’ve turned off the gas (of course I have), and frantically looking for my purse after a night on the piss to see how much money I wasted on booze (no more than I planned).

In a similar vein, a few years ago I made lemon curd, as an experiment, and it turned out so good that I imagined it was a fluke. I just didn’t think I was actually able to make something so delicious, or that something so good would be so easy to make. So I wrote it off as a one-time event, and I never made lemon curd again. Which was stupid, because it was one of the best things I’d ever put in my mouth, really.

Fast forward a few years, and it’s my friend’s birthday. He states that from the vast array of cakes in existence, he only likes cheesecake, and a birthday without a cake is not really a birthday at all, so cheesecake he must have. I settle for a citrusy one, and by golly, wouldn’t this orange-and-lemon cheesecake be perfect with a nice fat layer of lemon curd on top? Yes, yes it would be. So I decided to try again. And what do you know, it worked again. It really just is that fucking simple. How something so mouth-watering, slap-happy, butt-spanking good can be so easy, I shall never know, but here it is, lemon curd. Have a shot.

IMG_2410 IMG_2417

Use:

  • two lemons, peel and juice
  • 100 gr sugar
  • 50 gr butter
  • 3 eggs in total: 2 whole eggs and 1 yolk

OK, so what you do is, you grab a sharp knife and you peel off really thin strips of zest from one of your lemons. Thin, but not small, because you’re going to remove these later. Then juice your lemons.

Now what you want to do is grab a heat-proof bowl and hang it over a bunch of boiling water – a bain marie. In the bowl, put your butter, your lemon juice, the zest strips and the sugar, and melt all of it together. When everything is dissolved and mixed together, add the eggs and egg yolks, which you’ve beaten before. Slowly stir them in, making sure that everything mixes well. Once this stuff is pretty much the consistency of yoghurt, turn off the gas, remove the bowl from the hot water and set it aside to cool. Stir occasionally to make sure it doesn’t go lumpy. The lemon curd will thicken up a little bit, which is good because it’ll become all the more delicious.

Maybe if you guys behave I’ll share the recipe for the cheesecake next time.

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in british, british food, cooking, Desserts, Food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

