Reasons not to make tiramisù (and why we’re making it anyway)

It’s Christmas time, which means I’m hanging out at my parents’ place, trying to catch up with as many friends and relatives as I possibly can in the limited time available. Yesterday evening, some of those friends took me to their mediaeval Viking sword fighting class, so as to be able to spend more time together. I was equipped with a borrowed shield and sword (or sometimes a battle-axe), some heavy leather gloves and then I was pitched against my friends in some mock fights. It was great, I actually learned some quite interesting things and I got to hack away at people I like with a blunt, but nevertheless heavy and therefore mildly dangerous piece of weaponry.

Today, unfortunately, I’ve had to deal with the aftermath of this two-hour battlehero training session. I can barely move my arms, making everyday tasks such as putting on clothes or picking up stuff rather difficult. Normally I would just laze about all day and avoid performing any such mundane day-to-day acticities, but unfortunately I’d already told the whole family I was going to make tiramisù for Christmas dinner, and I couldn’t possibly back out.

Thankfully my parents have a well-equipped kitchen, and they’ve got a pretty good mixer. I managed to destroy my own puny mixer back in Turin by mixing cream cheese and mascarpone with it – the poor little thing couldn’t quite handle it, and now it’ll only turn on sometimes and exclsuively for light tasks. This means that most of the mixing back home now has to be done by hand, which I can usually deal with, but certainly not today.

In Turin I never make tiramisù anyway. It’s Blenderman’s specialty, and although for most other dishes I might be tempted to argue that mine is better, with tiramisù I really have no case. His is truly spectacular and I wouldn’t dream of challenging his authority in this case. However, now that I’m far from Turin, I can do whatever I want and no Italian food police is here to get on my case. Which means that we’ll be adding booze and doing a bunch of other possibly unorthodox things.boozy goodness

For a big-ass dish full of tiramisù, use:

  • 5 eggs (of which 5 yolks but only 4 whites)
  • 500 gr mascarpone
  • 125 gr sugar
  • 4 tbsp booze of your choice – I prefer something coffee flavoured, like Borghetti or, if you can’t get any of that, Kahlua. Cognac will work too. Eithe way, this is so unorthodox I already fear the comments. If you want to stay in the realm of the orthodox, use Marsala, which is allowed even in Italy. Blenderman’s is booze-free.
  • 500 gr ladyfingers
  • three cups of very strong coffee

Start by separating your eggs, put your five yolks in one bowl and your whites in another. Actually you’ll only need four egg whites, so you can chuck the last one out. Add the sugar to your egg yolks and whisk them until it’s a pretty foamy kind of mixture. Add the mascarpone and the booze, mix again until it’s completely smooth.

IMG_2381

Clean your mixer well, then whisk the egg whites until they’re completely stiff. Now add them to the mascarpone mixture and start folding it in. Don’t stir! You don’t want to undo all of the whisking you did before, so fold the mascarpone over the egg whites and keep folding until it’s all mixed.

IMG_2383IMG_2384IMG_2386IMG_2387

Now get your coffee out. Pour it onto a small oven dish or deep plate. Briefly dip each lady finger in the coffee (dip both sides if the coffee’s not deep enough to submerge the ladyfinger completely) and put them in an oven dish of your choice. Cover the whole bottom, then top with some of the mascrapone and egg mixture. Repeat this process until you have two layers, or, if you want to be an unorthodox bad-ass like me, go for three whole layers. Leave it in the fridge for at least three hours, and top with some cocoa powder just before serving up. IMG_2390    IMG_2388 IMG_2394IMG_2400IMG_2406

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in cooking, Desserts, Italian, recipes, Sweets and desserts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reasons not to make tiramisù (and why we’re making it anyway)

  1. H Rauschenberg says:

    Any remains? I happen to be in your vicinity – or as Dorine woud say: siamo in vicino. Anyway: valt er nog wat te happen????

    Like

Leave a Reply

