My life with my new flatmates, part V: six days thou shalt labour

Being a working woman and all, I suddenly have very limited free time. Since I work six days a week, I suddenly feel that my only free day should be spent in the most meaningful way possible. Rather than wasting my Sundays away in pyjamas, hidden under a blanket, recovering from the night before whilst watching a full season of Breaking Bad, I’ve started actually doing things on Sundays.

Luckily for me, Blenderman is also a working man so he also likes to do things. Usually he and his pals invite me along, and we all get out of town together. Usually I don’t actually know where we’re going, except that we’re going to the woods near <insert miniature town that I don’t know>, which is not really all that informative. Often I don’t even know what the adults in the front seats are talking about – I’m just happy to sit in the back seat and stare out the window, watching the landscape change from urban to suburban to wide and open to mountainous. Wherever we end up, I’m sure it’ll be lovely.

What happens usually on these Sunday trips is that we go for a short walk and then we eat. The first time we went on a trip, I imagined that we’d go for a few hours of trekking, and that we’d then reward ourselves with food. Instead what happened was that we got out of the car, walked for about 45 minutes along a clearly signposted path to a foresty food place, and then we had lunch. After that we walked another hour or so, bought some artisan cheese on our way back to the car, and then we went back home. On one of the best trips so far, we got out of the car, I threw myself into a pile of snow, got so cold I couldn’t really move, so we had some sandwiches in the car and then we went home. Best day ever, man.

On one of our trips, when it was still pretty cold and you actually needed warm, greasy food to keep you going, we had some polenta with a bunch cheese in it. It’s called polenta concia and it is seriously delicious. It’s also pretty greasy and buttery, but I’m into that sorta thing. It’s easy enough to make, once you know how to make polenta. I didn’t, but Blenderman showed me.

look at that polenta, baby

For a bunch of polenta concia which will feed a bunch of people (let’s say 6 healthy eaters), use:

  • half a kilo of polenta, which is actually farina di mais, or mais flour (but don’t get this confused with corn flour or corn starch, which is something completely different!)
  • 400 gr of gorgonzola
  • 100 gr of butter
  • some parmesan
  • water and salt

Note: for 1 kilo of polenta you need 4 litres of water. This recipe is for half a kilo of polenta. Change your quantities according to your own needs, but always keep the 1:4 ratio in mind.

Note 2: I used leftover polenta from the day before. Works fine. Possibly works even better, but I’m going to publish this recipe assuming that you don’t have any leftover polenta.

Put a pot with 2 litres of water and 1 tbsp of salt (coarse, if you have!) on the fire. When the water is still lukewarm, gently pour your polenta in the water. Be delicate, and pour it like you would pour a loved one’s ashes into the ocean – don’t just dump it in and be done with it, or you’ll get lumps. Now keep stirring. The polenta will take about 40 minutes to cook.

Once your polenta is done, pour half of it in an oven dish which you’ve greased up with some butter. Now cover this first layer with chunks of gorgonzola and butter, then add the final layer of polenta. If you’re using leftover polenta from the night before, you can cut it up into strips as I did, and just cover the base of the oven dish with those. Make sure they all touch.

Now cover the whole thing with parmesan, stick it in a preheated oven (180°C) and pull it out about 20 mins later.

IMG_0339 IMG_0331 IMG_0334 IMG_0337 sweet business oh my god polenta I love you

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food, Italian, Mains, Travel, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

