The brilliant food ideas of a hypothetical stoner

As I wrote a while ago, it’s the stoners of this world that come up with the most amazing food ideas. Imagine being high as a kite, getting the munchies, grabbing whatever is left in the fridge, and making a mind-blowing, belly-filling snack out of it.

When I first wrote about this it was because at the time I was feeling very pessimistic about my future, and I considered ‘sitting around a kitchen high, coming up with food ideas’ a much more useful contribution to society than anything I could ever hope to achieve with my Arts degree. However, now that I’m employed and I actually do contribute to society (more or less), the whole idea seems pretty unattractive. Which is why I will leave it to others!

Now, obviously I would never associate with stoners, and no-one in my kitchen would ever consider getting high. But just imagine that I did, and that people in my kitchen did, and just imagine that such a person then mixed cocoa powder with mascarpone, spooning it up with chocolate biscuits. Doesn’t that sound wonderful? I certainly think it sounds wonderful. And the whole thought started this massive chain of thoughts, because one day, when I was pretty hungry, I suddenly got a pretty arduous craving for this cocoaey mascarpone. I then I started thinking what I could possibly do to make it even better, and that’s were it got serious.

Remember the banoffee pie from a couple of years ago? Yeah? Well so did I. Initially I wanted to do something very similar in structure, but with different ingredients. Chocolate goes well with cherries, so I was hoping for a jar of those. But they’re sorta difficult to come by here, and they’re on the expensive side, so in the end I just stuck with bananas and made almost the exact same thing as banoffee pie, but with cocoaey mascarpone instead of caramel. Damn good though, really damn good. Chocolate mascarpone and banana pie, you need this in your life.

IMG_0231 Oh sweet Jesus so delicious
For a large pie that will probably serve about 8 people, or 10 or 12 modest ones, use:

  • 1 whole pack of biscuits – hobnobs, or gran cereale if you’re in Italy
  • anywhere between 70 and 100gr of butter, melted
  • 3 bananas
  • about 50gr of dark chocolate, broken or chopped into small chunks
  • 400gr mascarpone
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • some sugar, to taste
  • 125ml whipping cream

Crush the biscuits, making a sort of biscuity powder out of them. Mix the melted butter in with the biscuit powder, press it all down hard into a cake tin and put it in the fridge for a few hours (if you have a few hours – otherwise just for an hour). Butter quantities: more butter makes for a more solid base, but obviously also for a more buttery flavour. See what you find more important and how much butter you can deal with.

Slice up the bananas and divide them over the biscuit base. Grab your chocolate and sprinkle it over the banana layer. With the chocolate you create a nice crunchy contrast with the soft banana and mascarpone filling.

Anyway, beat the whipping cream so that it’s not quite whipped, but sort of custardy in consistency. Now chuck the cream, mascarpone, cocoa powder and a bit of sugar (to taste!) in a big bowl, mix it all well and then use it to top the banana. Be careful, this procedure is a bit delicate – the best approach, I found, is to use a spoon to chuck the mascarpone filling onto the banana one dollop at a time, after which you smooth it all out with  the back of the spoon, but only once you’ve covered almost all of it anyway.

Decorate with a bit more cocoa powder just before you serve up.

IMG_0235 IMG_0221 IMG_0223 delicious banana and chocolate cake

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Baking, Desserts, Sweets and desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The brilliant food ideas of a hypothetical stoner

  1. Anonymous says:

    Kijkend naar het issue-tijdstip vandacht ik: nou die heeft het kaarsje wel op de nagel laten branden, het zal wel een eenvoudig recept worden. Maar toen ik je tekst las, was mijn belangstelling wel gewekt. En toen ik de afbeeldingen zag, liep het water me in de mond.
    Alberto dell’Aia

    Like

Leave a Reply

