Unemployed smoothie maker

A few years ago I worked for a catering company. We catered for all sorts of parties and events, but the best weekend of the year was a flower festival near where I stay. A whole bunch of rich people would congregate at some castle to buy rare primulas, and we would feed them wildly overpriced sandwiches all day.

My job at the festival, year after year, was that of the Fruit lady. I took care of the fruit. We’d have, like, 400 pounds of oranges to be squeezed (with a machine, thankfully), 50 kilos of strawberries to hull, 80 watermelons to cut and so on. My favourite part of the job was making smoothies. My boss, for some reason, trusted me with the creative process, and left the fruit in my capable hands for the whole duration of the festival, barely ever checking in on me. Not that he needed to, I was experimenting away and quickly had about 5 types of smoothie that were really good, but it was nice to be trusted. This was the best job I’ve ever had.

This summer, unfortunately, I’m unemployed. I’m not in any one place long enough to get a temporary shit job before my upcoming real job, so instead, I’m leeching off my parents. I feel sorta bad about this, so I try to make them as much food as possible, to make up for it. And thankfully I still have my smoothie making skills from all those years ago.

I know this recipe is quite simple, but a lot of people at the festival asked me how it was done, anyway. You can use any sort of fruit you want, and any sort of syrup, or you can leave the syrup out altogether if you prefer it less sweet and healthier.

mango smoothie

Let’s make half a litre of smoothie, because we can:

  • half a mango (or any fruit of your choice)
  • half a banana
  • 350ml yoghurt (better go for the liquid ones rather than thick, Greek-style)
  • 150ml freshly squeezed orange juice
  • about 1 tbsp sirop de citron (or lemon diluting juice – I think it’s the same thing)
  • if it’s a very hot day, some crushed ice

At work I used a blender. At home, I can’t be bothered with all the cleaning that involves afterwards, and I use a hand blender instead. Either works, although the normal blender is a bit more powerful and will get the job done quicker. The crushed ice might be a problem for the hand blender, too.

Chuck the fruit, the yoghurt and the juice (and if using, the crushed ice) in the blender or in a tall jug. Blend until all the fruit is completely liquidized and the liquids have mixed properly. Taste, and see how much sirop de citron you fancy throwing in. Chuck that amount in, blend again, then serve.

mango smoothie

mango smoothie

I also learned how to make inexpensive decorations out of fruit peels.

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

