Leftover rice made hangover rice

I love eating rice. I hate cooking rice. I’m sure you understand how this is sometimes a problem.

The reason I hate cooking rice is that I make it a lot of hassle. I wash my rice until the water is almost clear, which can take forever. I end up washing and rinsing it 5, maybe 6 times. After that, I try to steam it in just enough water (rather than boil it in way too much water and then draining it when cooked), but I usually add too little water and rice will get stuck to the bottom of my saucepan. A rice cooker wouldn’t actually be such a bad idea for me, but I don’t have money to buy one or kitchen space to put one.

Because I hate cooking rice but love eating rice, cooking a double portion usually seems like a good idea, because that way you can eat rice twice and only cook rice once. Double profit. However, sometimes you get stuck with that rice. Sometimes you end up not having dinner at home for a few days in a row, and then your tasty boiled rice might go off. Total shame.

However, this situation is easily avoided. The simple solution in this scenario is to get shitfaced one night, wake up with a pounding hangover the next day, and to have it for breakfast with some eggs and whatever veg you happen to have in the fridge. You’ll get 1) a good night out, 2) a good hangover cure and 3) you get to use your rice that would otherwise go to waste. Triple profit.

tasty hangover breakfast fried rice

For this next trick I will need:

  • a volunteer
  • some leftover rice
  • 1/3 of a courgette
  • half an onion
  • 1 dried chilli (just a wee one)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • generous sprinkle of soy sauce
  • generous pinch of cumin
  • 2 eggs
  • spring onion (totally optional)

Crush your garlic. Chop up your onion and your courgette. Chuck them all in a frying pan with some oil. Add the dried chilli, crushed or chopped.

When it starts sizzling a bit, chuck in a bunch of soy sauce. Then add the rice. Stir, mixing all the ingredients, and fry until it’s nice and hot.

Put the fried rice on a plate. Now use the same frying pan for frying your eggs. Top the rice with them, add some spring onion if you want, then eat.

IMG_0357 IMG_0361 tasty hangover breakfast fried rice

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

