Breakfast with Ottolenghi

For someone who’s as excited about food as I am, I’m surprisingly unaware of culinary trends. Maybe it doesn’t help that I don’t have a TV – I never see or hear what any of the celeb chefs dictate and am therefore blissfully unaware of any potential faux-pas I might be committing. The only TV-chef I’ve watched with some frequency was the previously mentioned Alessandro Borghese, and admittedly, that was more because I fancied him and because he usually closed his show with a decent rock tune.

A friend of mine has a book by a chef, a certain mister Ottolenghi – whom I apparently should have known, but didn’t. She told me how exciting his recipes were and made me have a look. And in fact it was pretty exciting! The pictures were really pretty, the food looked good and every recipe had a wee introduction. Pretty good stuff. One recipe in particular drew my attention, because it was a breakfast recipe with eggs, and I really do like both breakfast and eggs, especially combined. I gave it a shot there the other day and really liked it, so it’s going on the blog! Rocket with eggs and garlic yoghurt, according to Ottolenghi.

However, I’ve made some minor changes. Monsieur Ottolenghi says so put it in the oven and to make a separate pepper and sage butter sauce. That’s too much hassle, in the morning anyway. Much as I enjoy cooking, breakfast should be fast-ish and require relatively little effort. So instead of putting it in the oven, we’re making a frying pan exclusive version. Instead of making a butter sauce, we’ll incorporate the butter into the dish straight away. Much easier, just as tasty.

tasty eggs by ottolenghi

I had three eggs by myself because I’m a dirty greedy.

For 2, you will need:

  •  150 gr rocket
  • 4 eggs
  • a few leaves of fresh sage (like 4 or so, just little ones)
  • 1 dried chili, crushed
  • some olive oil
  • 50 gr butter
  • 6 tbsp greek yoghurt
  • 1 clove of garlic

Put the butter in a frying pan, melt on medium heat. Add the crushed chilli and the sage leaves, chopped or torn into bits. Gently fry for a while so the butter can soak up the flavours. Now add the rocket, washed and dried, add some salt an fry for a while until wilted. Now add some more oil so the eggs won’t stick, and crack the eggs, making them a nice wee nest with the rocket. Leave to fry until they’re to your desired state – I like mine soft-ish with the yolks still runny.

Whilst the eggs are cooking, put the yoghurt in a bowl with the garlic, crushed (it needs to be really fine, so I’d say that chopping isn’t gonna cut it this time – use a garlic press if you have one). Mix well.

Serve the eggs with the yoghurt sauce, some strong coffee and a glass of juice.

IMG_9913 IMG_9914 IMG_9917 tasty eggs by ottolenghi

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

