The rolling pin of doom

Remember how I said that my New Year’s resolution was to buy myself a rolling pin and make more quiche? Well, there was no need. It turns out my flatmate had a rolling pin all along. All this time there was a rolling pin available to me, and I’d never even thought to ask! My flatmate’s not the domestic type, so she hardly ever cooks – much less bakes. It was therefore pretty surprising to hear her say that there was absolutely no need for me to buy a rolling pin, there was one in the house.

I ventured into one of the cupboards (the one over the extractor fan, with the baking stuff in it) to find this alleged rolling pin. And sure enough, there it was, behind a pile of sticky, infrequently-used cake tins. I immediately regretted my decision not to buy a new rolling pin once I got it out of the cupboard: it was greasy, dirty, sticky, and the wood looked weirdly green in some places – the colour of oxidised bronze, more or less. But nothing ventured, nothing gained – I decided to try and clean it. If all the dirt came off, excellent, if not, I could use a bottle that night and buy a rolling pin as I had planned the next day.

It wasn’t easy, but in the end it worked out. Several treatments with boiling water, fairy liquid and brillo pads did the trick – at least as far as I can tell. I’m still not entirely sure it’s safe to touch food with this thing, but it looks decent enough. Plus, I like to think that adding bacteria to your food is good for your immune system – makes you tough.

So here’s a quiche!

quichequiche

For a decent sized, but not massive quiche you will need:

  • 2/3 slab of puff pastry
  • 8-10 mushrooms
  • about 100 gr serrano ham
  • half a red onion
  • 5 eggs
  • some fresh thyme (about a tablespoonfull)
  • some black pepper
  • butter or oil for greasing

You’ll also need a tray or cake tin of some description. I used a 30cm round one.

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees. Use oil of butter to grease your form. Roll out the puff pastry to fit your form, leaving a little to use later for decoration.

Slice the mushrooms into thin slices. Tear the serrano ham up into bits with your hands. Slice the onion as thinly as is humanly possible. Chuck all of this in with the puff pastry and mix well but carefully so as not to tear the pastry.

Beat the eggs in a bowl with the thyme and some black pepper. You won’t usually need salt, what with the serrano ham being so salty already. Pour the mixture over the filling and make sure all is evenly distributed. Now make a little decorative thingy out of the left-over pastry and use it to cover the quiche. Using a silicon brush or your fingers, cover the decorative pastry thing on top with some egg to make it look nice and shiny.

Stick it in the oven for half an hour. Test with a knife or skewer to see if the egg has cooked all the way through.

quiche IMG_9394 IMG_9395 IMG_9401 IMG_9407

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Baking, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

