Procrastibrownies

It’s almost the end of the semester and that means that essays are due! Unfortunately, as you may have read in posts similar to this one, the one thing I haven’t learned in five years of uni is to plan ahead. I simply cannot do it. I know I’m not alone in this, at least, but it’s still a pain. If I know that an essay is due in five weeks, that means I’ll start the work on it in four weeks or (probably) later. Unless the pressure is on, I cannot concentrate on the simplest of tasks.

So now I’m in a panic again. I still have a decent amount of time before the deadline next week, that’s not it. The issue is that a friend of mine is coming over all the way from the States tomorrow, so I don’t want to spend the weekend in the library while he’s out having fun – by himself. But this is a fairly important piece of assessed work and I want to do well on it.

I was in a particularly bad state yesterday, when the panic got so bad that I couldn’t think properly. So I went home and made some brownies. I felt much better after that. I didn’t necessarily get any more work done afterwards, but at least I had some tasty brownies to cheer me up. I then shared some with some friends and the compliments I got made me feel better yet. I was feeling all warm and fuzzy inside so got a pretty good night’s sleep and today I felt so relaxed that I was super productive and wrote about a thousand words. And I still have some brownies left! Man, does life get any better than this? I didn’t think so.

 brownies

brownies

So, for a batch of brownies you will need:

  • 100 gr dark chocolate
  • 100 gr butter
  • 100gr flour
  • 200 gr caster sugar
  • half a tsp baking powder
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • pinch of salt
  • handful of chopped walnuts

Preheat the oven to 180°C and grease an oven dish of about 18×28 cm. Those measurements are from the cookbook I used as a child to make these. I think any largeish, rectangular oven dish will do. You can see mine in the picture. I have no idea how big it is but it worked pretty well.

Melt the butter and the chocolate au bain marie. Mix up all of the dry ingredients (including nuts!) in a separate bowl. Add the chocolate mixture once all of it has gone liquid, mix well, then add the egss, mix well again.

Pour the mixture into the greased oven dish, then bake for half an hour. Leave to cool for a while before trying to cut it into squares (or you’ll rip them apart – seriously, don’t try it. Just be patient. Half an hour, that’s all it’ll take).

 

brownies, chocolate, bain marie
IMG_9331IMG_9333IMG_9336IMG_9340brownies

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Baking, Food, Sweets and desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Procrastibrownies

  1. dellaia says:

    Procrasti, ik gok erop dat het te maken heeft met cras, morgen, dus dat het brownies zijn voor de vogende dag of die je de volgende wilt / kunt eten. Tja, chocolade heeft een erkend apaiserende werking. Eet smakelijk, succes met het werk en veel plezier met de Amerikaanse connectie.

    Like

    • Nou, je zat er niet ver van, maar de uitleg is makkelijker dan je dacht: het werkwoord ‘to procrastinate’ betekent ‘uitstellen’ en dan specifiek als het werk betreft waar men geen zin in heeft. Ik heb het pas geleerd toen ik hier kwam studeren, maar heb het sindsdien vaak nodig gehad.

      Like

  2. Gilsanquar says:

    Lekker

    Like

  3. Luffy Moogan says:

    These look so good. Dutch comments! I lived in Amsterdam and Delft for a couple of years so it’s amazing to see after all these years!

    Like

Leave a Reply

