A 1 KG bag of fun (peanuts)

You know what is great? No going to Tesco Metro, that’s what’s great. As I said last week, now that I’m going to other shops, I can buy all sorts of things that I could never buy before and I’m having the best of fun.

Most recent bag of fun: a 1 KG bag of shelled peanuts.

“God Dittatrice, what on earth are you going to do with a full kilo of peanuts, if I may ask?”

You may. I’m going to make a full kilo of peanut butter out of it, of course!

Making your own peanut butter is awesome, just as making your own anything is awesome. Peanut butter is not difficult to make, it’ll be fresh and a lot healthier than store-bought peanut butter, and you can add funky flavours to make it all just a little more interesting. Most peanut butter that you buy from shops is a bit on the sweet side. I prefer savoury over sweet, one of the reasons I love making my own. This peanut butter is one that you would combine with slices of cucumber or tomato, rather than with banana. Had Elvis eaten this peanut butter, I’m sure he would’ve survived a lot longer. You’ll have to keep it in the fridge, because it doesn’t contain any of the artificial preservatives – totally worth it. I made two different types, and since the recipes are identical – it’s just the ingredients that are different – I’ll post them both.

peanut butter

peanut butter

For a jar of peanut butter (or about 300 gr), you will need:

  • about 300 gr of shelled peanuts
  • 2 tbsp of sesame seed
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • good pinch of black pepper
  • pinch of salt (optional)
  • 1-2 tbsp sunflower oil (optional)

OR

  • about 300 gr of shelled peanuts
  • 1 tsp harissa paste
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp ground coriander
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1-2 tbsp sunflower oil (optional)

To take the skins off the peanuts, put them on a sheet of baking paper on a baking tray and roast them at 200°C for 5-10 minutes, then let them cool down for a while. The skins will now come off easily. It’s a bit of hassle, but it’s not an entirely unpleasant chore.

peanuts

Skins still on.

peanuts

Now put the peanuts and all of the other ingredients in a food processor. Grind it all up. It’ll take quite a lot of time, but don’t give up hope, keep grinding. First it’ll go a bit powdery, then the mixture will start looking like couscous, and then, finally, it’ll turn into a smooth paste.

peanuts

First stage…

peanuts

…and second stage.

A lot of recipes say that you won’t need to add any oil, but I found mine was way too dry without adding some oil. It probably depends on the quality of the peanuts, so taste and see what you think. I found that 2 tbsp of oil on 300 gr of peanuts was enough to smoothen the mixture up a bit.

Put it in a jar, keep it in the fridge. That’s all!

IMG_9301 IMG_9309 peanuts

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

