Say no to Tesco – say hello to mooli

I hate Tesco. There, I said it. I have been growing increasingly tired of Tesco over the past few months, and now I’m just totally done with it. Every time I enter the overpriced Tesco Metro on Byres Road (unfortunately the supermarket closest to where I stay) my aversion grows a little bit.

See, Tesco has this reputation of being the cheapest shop around, and on a student budget, that’s a pretty convincing reason to shop there. However, the Tesco Metro, basically a smaller and more expensive version of normal Tesco, is so small, so useless and so overpriced that instead of saving money I end up spending more, and instead of saving time I take longer, because I have to go to other shops to get the things that stupid Tesco Metro does not have.

Rather than going to a whole bunch of shops and Tesco, I’ve changed to going to those other shops and avoiding Tesco altogether. And it’s been great, because the other shops are way more fun than the smelly supermarket! It’s a bit of a trek, but it’s worth it for all the awesome things they sell. Like pound-bags of cashew nuts or almonds. Like sesame seed in normal, usable quantities (as opposed to the 150 gr bags that I’m used to). And like mooli!

I ran into a crate of mooli the other day and I was pleasantly surprised to see it here in Glasgow. I used to eat it quite a bit when I was in India years and years ago, but I hadn’t had it since. It looks like a giant, white carrot and it tastes a bit like radish, mostly fresh and a bit sharp. In India they used to make this dead simple, but delicious salad out of it and I decided I wanted some, so I bought myself an entire mooli and I made a whole bunch of salad and it was great.

So everyone, skip Tesco today, go straight for a greengrocer, a foreign deli, a baker or a butcher. Say no to rubbish Tesco. And make some mooli salad!

Mooli salad

This dish is best eaten as a side, maybe with something spicy. Quantities are all up to you, but here’s maybe enough for a side for 2:

  • half a mooli
  • half a red onion
  • a few sprigs of coriander (optional but definitely recommended)
  • half a lime
  • good pinch of salt

Peel the mooli and slice it up into very thin slices, use a cheese slicer or mandoline of you need to (although the slices come out just a bit too thin that way for my taste).

Slice the onion up as thinly as is humanly possible. Chuck the onion slices and mooli slices into a bowl together. Then squeeze the lime and sprinkle the juice over the salad, add some salt, too. Mix well, then top with fresh coriander.

mooli daikon salad

 

mooli daikon salad

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Say no to Tesco – say hello to mooli

  1. dellaia says:

    Het lijkt mij een lekkere, frisse slade met een – voor ons – nieuwe smaak. Heel gezond ook. Ik ga hem zeker uitproberen. Op naar de Chinese winkel in de Johan de Wittstraat!
    Zo, je hebt het gehad met de Tesco. In welke winkel heb je de mooli gekocht? Day staat niet in je recept. Zeker een onopvallend allochtoon gevalletje met vriendelijke mensen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

