Mom issues, expressed in my choice of food

Hark back to the days of your early childhood. Think of your favourite dish from those days. What was it? How often did you eat it? Was it your mum’s speciality, or your dad’s? Or was it a take-away from the local chippie? Do you still eat it sometimes?

When I was little, there was this one dish that my mum used to make me that I went absolutely nuts for. It was a fairly simple, but utterly brilliant concept: spinach and egg, covered with mashed tatties, covered with cheese, from the oven. I may have to admit, it’s not very sophisticated, nothing culinary about it, it really is a dish for kids. It contains no ingredients with strong flavours, it doesn’t require much chewing, and it’s topped with cheese – grilled cheese, that universal cheat of cooks.

But it’s really nice, and I still sometimes have it. It makes me feel good. Maybe because it’s delicious. Maybe because it reminds me of my mum taking care of me when I was a youngster. (I’m sure Freud would have something fascinating to say about this – mommy issues, expressed in my choice of food.) Either way, it’s comfort food. It’s easy to make, more or less healthy, and not all that expensive.

You can use frozen spinach or fresh, either is fine, but if you use fresh, you’ll have to wilt it before putting it in the oven.

spinach, spinach pie, grilled cheese

 

For 2, you’ll need:

  • 250 gr fresh spinach, or the equivalent of frozen spinach
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 large potatoes
  • some butter and milk to make mash
  • cheese of your own choice (I use normal cheddar)

Preheat the oven to 200°C.

Peel and boil the potatoes in water with enough salt, then mash them with some butter and some milk.

Boil the eggs until they’re hard all the way through. Peel them and chop them up into bits.

Roughly cut the spinach and wilt it in a frying pan with a little bit of butter. Once that’s done, take an oven dish and put the spinach in it. Add the egg (you can mix it or just make it into a separate layer), top that with the mashed potatoes, and finally with a layer of cheese.

Stick the dish in the oven for about 15 minutes. Then turn the grill on and wait until the cheese is nice and grilled.

Do leave a comment if you like, and tell me about your favourite food from when you were young. I’m actually quite interested.

spinach

 

spinach, cheese, mash

 

spinach

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Baking, Food, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mom issues, expressed in my choice of food

  1. Kat! says:

    Een simpele maaltijd van mijn moeder waar ik dol op was en dat ik nog wel eens maak; gehaktmacaroni! 2/3 uien snipperen en fruiten, gehakt erbij rullen macaroni ondertussen koken (elleboogjes), blik tomatenpuree bij gehakt en ui, paprikapoeder, zout en peper naar smaak, macaroni erdoorheen roeren. Serveren met een uitsmijter on top en eventueel een groene salade. Lekker!!

    Like

  2. Oh ja, echt super, dit soort verhalen zoek ik! Dank voor uw bijdrage.

    Like

Leave a Reply

