Emergency swede chips

Aaah, student life. The best life you could lead. Almost unlimited liberty. Very few responsibilities. Opportunities to get to know new people. The slow but steady accumulation of knowledge (even if, in my case, this knowledge is almost exclusively of the pointless variety).

But alas, there are some downsides. Funds are limited and priorities distorted. Therefore, after an unplanned (but not unwanted) night out last Friday, I found myself the next morning with a throbbing sore head and no more cash for the rest of the week. Fortunately the week would only last two more days, and I still had some food in the fridge. Not a whole lot, but enough to not go hungry for two days.

Maybe my subconscious is aware of my unorganised and prodigal nature, because for some reason it always makes me buy swedes. Swedes are the perfect emergency food, because they stay fine in the fridge for ages (seriously, I think I’d had this one for two weeks when I finally used it, still fine!) and they’re ridiculously cheap. And you can make a variety of things out of them, but the best way to eat them is roast in the oven: swede chips. Along with some potato chips and some left-over vegetables they made a fine dinner.

You will need

  • however much swede you happen to have in the house
  • some oil
  • salt and other seasoning; I used sage and black pepper

Peel the swede and slice it into chip-sized bits. Boil these in salted water for a couple of minutes, maybe 3. Drain them, and whilst they’re still in the pan, pour some oil (I use sunflower oil) over them. Put the lid back on; you can now easily shake the whole bunch around until all chips are covered in oil.

OK I admit. Half of these are potato chips. It’s the slightly darker ones that are swedes.

Pour them out onto a baking tray and season them with salt and whatever else you might want to season them with (although I really do recommend sage!). Stick them in the oven, 220°C, for 10 minutes. Then take them out, flip them over, stick them back in for 10 minutes. After this, take one out and taste it. If it’s nice and crispy on the outside but soft inside, take them out. If not, stick them in for 10 more minutes.

Serve with brown sauce or anything!

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emergency swede chips

  1. Marij says:

    Is het met aardappels hetzelfde? Of moet je die langer koken van tevoren?

    Like

Leave a Reply

