Too hot to eat

The last few weeks I’ve been away from Glasgow, in countries that are considerably hotter than Scotland. We made it to a toasty 36 degrees in the Netherlands one day. Everyone complained and succumbed to general lethargy, but secretly we all loved having an excuse for doing absolutely nothing, lying in the shade, sweating. Well, we, I guess I did. At the moment, in Italy, the weather is pretty dire as well, but I like it. 40 degrees? Bring it on.

Something that people always tend to say when we reach the peak of summer and the sun comes out, is that it’s too hot to eat. This, my dear Sir or Madam, is bollocks. I can understand the general apathy that this kind of heat instills in people, but it’s never too hot to eat. Unless maybe your house is on fire. And even then you could still roast some marshmallows in the flames. Find consolation in the sweetness, make the best out of even the worst situation.

But the people have spoken. It’s too hot to eat. So instead of a recipe, here’s something else that’s more or less related to food. It’s a handy trick my mum taught me to make sure you always have ice-cold water in the house.

All you need is:

  • a bottle (or several bottles)
  • some water
  • a freezer

Fill a bottle for about a quarter of its height. When you pop it on its side, the water should cover a fair bit of the bottle, but preferably not make it all the way to the lid.

Now just pop it in the freezer like that, on its side. Let the water freeze. Now, when you take it out, there will still be room for more water, which will be chilled in a matter of minutes because of the giant chunk of ice in your bottle.

I’m going to tag this recipe ‘vegan’ just for the hell of it.

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too hot to eat

  1. You’ve become a tad lazy, haven’t you? ;)

    This trick is neat, I actually found out about this all by myself. Mostly after having wrecked several (glass and metal) bottles by freezing them while full, and having to wait two days after a plastic bottle’s content would have melted. I also do have these handy ice trays that give me, well, ice tubes that fit perfectly into a bottle.

    If you per chance have a wine or soda you’d like to cool in a few minutes, I do have another trick:
    put the bottle/can in a bowl with ice cubes (I always store a bag of cubes) and add some salt. It will force the ice cubes to melt, absorbing heat from the container at a higher rate.

    Like

    • Well, lazy, lazy… I’ve had a lot to do, that’s all ;) It was either this or take a holiday from blogging for a few weeks altogether. I thought this was a rather nifty compromise.

      I’d heard about salt an icecubes before but for some reason always assumed it was balls. I’ll give that a try some day, if I’m really desperate for a cold drink :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

