The wettest summer ever.

This year was the first time I decided to spend the whole summer in Scotland. Unfortunately, this summer has also been the wettest summer recorded in Scotland since people have started recording exactly how wet or dry summers are. Remember that post about summer finally arriving in Scotland? We all fell for it. We all bought shorts, dresses, barbecues and sun tan lotion. It lasted less than a week, then it was back to biblical floods.

I’ve had fun though, really. A personal highlight has been working at T in the Park, a four day outdoor festival where I was required to stand outside all day, sleep in a tent at night, and yet look presentable at all times. Hillwalking on the isle of Kerrera (near Oban) was great, too. It was as wet as T in the Park, except I know had a poncho (which, incidentally, I had nicked the weekend before at T in the Park). Instead of the rain, I now had to bear the looks of contempt of seasoned hillwalkers in their North Face gear, but at least I was warm and snug in my polythene drapery. Another great way to celebrate summer in Scotland was the occasional drenched motorbike lesson, on one of which I almost destroyed the bike by riding it through a waist-deep puddle. Oops.

Additionally I got to know the house and my own bedroom really well, and I now know the comfiest spots on my bed to read and crochet on.

But no matter how much fun sitting around the house and getting soaked outside has been, we’ve all been longing for some sunshine. And today, we finally got some. Which means that I’ve had no time or desire to write blogs. Because I had to sit in the park to sunbathe and read books. Conveniently I also have no time or desire to cook, because I’ve been picnicking in the park, munching away on sandwiches, fruit, icecreams and juice. I’m all full, so for dinner, a simple wee salad will do.

For one, you will need:

  • a handful of spinach
  • 4 or 5 cherry tomatoes
  • a chunk of feta
  • a number of pitted black olives
  • one spring onion
  • some olive oil

Chuck a handful of washed fresh spinach in a bowl. Chop the tomatoes in half or in quarters. Crumble the feta. Slice the olives in half. Slice the spring onion in wee slices. Jumble it all together in a bowl. Sprinkle with some olive oil. That’s all.

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

