The limited world of British vegetarians

I pity the vegetarians in this country. In the UK, more than elsewhere, you have to go through considerable trouble to avoid eating meat. It’s goddamn everywhere. Order soup, there’ll be strips of crispy bacon. Order a salad, there’ll be shredded chicken. Order sticky toffee cake and by Jove, I swear they’ll manage to include braised steak in it somehow.

What’s worse, though, is that the scarce veggie options are usually pretty rank. Not even unappetising, or below average, no, we’re talking proper disgusting. Veggie burgers that contain mostly old leek, cornstarch, flour and wallpaper paste. The dreaded macaroni and cheese which contains no cheese, but has once been shown footage of cheese, and that’s close enough. Just about anything made out of beans, ‘because they replace the meaty element of a meal’. Meaty element in a meal my ass. It makes me sad.

However, help is on the way. In the centre of Glasgow, there’s a taco shop that, wonder of wonders, has two veggie options, both of which are really good! My favourite is pumpkin with courgette. I thought it was a very unexpected kind of filling to find in a taco shop, but it is actually one of the best things I have ever had in a burrito and it is dead easy to make. So let’s make it!

To fill two burritos you shall need:

  • half a courgette
  • half a small butternut squash
  • some red pepper
  • seasoning, I use cumin, paprika, cayenne pepper and ground coriander

These are just the ingredients for this particular filling. It’ll still need customising after this. What other fillings you might want to put in is entirely up to you. I used kidney beans in tomato sauce, white rice, soured cream, fresh coriander, cheese, jalapeños and home made red salsa.

Wash the courgette and the pepper. Take the skin off the pumpkin. Slice all of the veg in thin strips. In a frying pan, heat some oil and fry the courgette and the pumpkin. After they seem to be nearly cooked, add the strips of pepper as well. Add a teaspoon of cumin, a teaspoon of paprika, half a teaspoon of cayenne pepper and a teaspoon and a half of ground coriander.

That’s it. Now fill your burrito and top with anything you like.

 

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The limited world of British vegetarians

  1. jessmittens says:

    Thank you for the recipe! I bought some vegie burgers the other day from my supermarkets deli because we didn’t feel like cooking (it was too hot) and they were gross. Just slabs of tasteless potato, a few corn kernels and a few bits of limp carrot. Awful awful taste!
    I will try these :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

