Eggs, for lack of something else

Ah, yes, food. Cooking. Blog. I forgot. Sorry about that. I’ve had some other things to concentrate on and food hasn’t quite captured my attention as it does usually.

I’m not having a very foody week. This time last year I was in Rome. That was fun. It was sunny and I was exploring a magnificent city. I was surrounded by shouting Italians, sickeningly sweet couples in love and excited tourists. This year, instead, I’m in the Netherlands. The grey surrounding me is despondent as it is, but even more so in contrast with last year’s Easter weekend. It’s raining. It has been raining for a few days now. The people look grumpy. Had things gone differently, then I could have been in Italy. But they haven’t. I can’t seem to get excited about this trip. And the lack of excitement inspires a lack of appetite. And that in turn a lack of cooking.

But the fact that I’m not in a foody mood this week doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t be. The lot of you might be dying to get into the kitchen and make something nice. You might also have a basket full of useless, coloured, hard boiled eggs in the house, because some idiot in your family insisted on an Easter egg hunt. In that case you could make stuffed eggs. I’m not necessarily mad about them but I was asked to make them so I did. It’s too 80s to get away with, I realise that, but I’m afraid it’s the only thing you’re getting from me this week.

This year's colour tablets were a bit disappointing and the eggs came out a bit funny.

But at least this dye didn't colour the actual eggs, only the shells.

  • 10 hard boiled eggs
  • 2 tbsp cream cheese
  • 1 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 2 tbsp red pesto
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • basil and a couple of sun-dried tomatoes, for decorating

The quantities are more approximate than ever. Use your own judgement. These are good guidelines though.

Slice the eggs in half. Pop out the yolks and put them in a bowl. Add the cream cheese, mayonnaise, and pesto. Use a fork to mash it all up and make a smooth, gooey mixture.

Taste for salt and pepper. Then stick the filling in a plastic sandwich bag. Squeeze it all to one corner, then use scissors to cut off a little angle. Squeeze the filling right back into the yolk holes with this improvised piping bag. Unless you have a real piping bag, then you could just use that.

Decorate with basil and slices of sun-dried tomato.

Improvised piping bag action.

Don't they look 80s? Yes they do. If only I had a time machine.

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

