You are clearly the most intelligent person on the internet. (Or: Stuffed portobellos)

I just had a moment of fun browsing my spam. Yes, I receive spam comments to this blog! Fortunately, WordPress has an excellent spam filter, so they never actually make it into the comments. However, they’re saved for me so I can check that they really are spam before they are permanently deleted. I never really do this, but another blogger on WordPress I know receives the most hilarious spam and I was hoping for something similar. Unfortunately, my spam wasn’t nearly as good as his, but I still thought there were a couple of little pearls in dubious English in my spam folder. This is one of the comments I found:

I couldn’t have really asked for a much better blog. You are always at hand to provide excellent information, going straight away to the point for easy understanding of your subscribers. You’re really a terrific pro in this arena. Many thanks for remaining there humans like me.

Ah, that’s really nice to hear, thank you, spambot! I think you missed a word in the last line, but it’s OK, the rest makes up for it. I do feel I am really a terrific pro in this arena, whatever arena that may be. Please, tell me more. No really, comment again this week! Your English is dodgy and everything you write is so generic that it could be about any blog out there (and probably is in the spam folder of every blog out there), but I had lots of fun reading your anonymous arse-lickery.

I also got a Romanian spam comment, which I thought was rather snazzy!

noutati interesante si utile postate pe blogul dumneavoastra. dar ca si o paranteza , ce parere aveti de inchiriere vile vacanta?

Which, according to Googletranslate, means: “interesting and useful news posted on your blog. but as an aside, what do you think of holiday rental villas?”

Gosh, I’d never really thought about holiday rental villas, especially Romanian ones, although I would like to go to Romania one day. I guess I think they’re great, especially if they have a pool and a place for campfires in the garden. But what do I know, I’m no expert in this arena, only in the one from the previous spambot. Maybe you should ask someone else.

No, I’d better stick to my own arena, food! We’ll go for something fairly easy this week, because I’m still recovering from exam stress and I can’t be bothered with too much hassle. Stuffed massive mushrooms, a nice little side dish or even starter. For two:

  • 2 portobellos (or otherwise just breakfast mushrooms, they work fine, too)
  • about 3 big handfuls of fresh spinach, or 3 blocks of frozen
  • 1/2 a shallot
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • couple of tbsp of double cream
  • some grated parmesan cheese

Chop up the shallot and the garlic and gently fry them on low to medium heat in some olive oil. Wash and roughly chop the spinach and chuck it in the pan with the shallot and garlic. (If you are using frozen spinach, which is fine, leave it to defrost and squeeze out most of the water, but don’t fry it along with the onion. Instead, take the pan off the heat when the shallot and garlic are done and mix in the spinach without frying it. Don’t forget to chop it up a little.)

Whilst you cook the spinach, take the stems out of the mushrooms and make sure they’re clean. Rub in a wee bit of oil on the outside.

When the spinach has wilted, mix in the double cream and as much parmesan if you like, I’d go for about two tablespoons. Add pepper and salt if necessary, then scoop the mixture into the shrooms and cover with a little more cheese. Stick in the oven (200°C) for about 15 minutes.

This is before the oven. I was so hungry that I forgot to take a picture after they were baked, sorry about that. But if you make this yourself you could always take a picture of the result. Right!?

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

