A jolly lot

You know who are a jolly lot? The Greek. They understand things. Maybe it’s because they used to philosophise so much back in the old days and they figured out what life is all about, or maybe it just comes naturally to them (because of their fantastic climate?), but these people have got it all sorted out. They eat, they drink, they sing, they party, they go to the beach. They close what they describe as “possibly the most important archaeological museum IN THE WORLD” at four in the afternoon to go hang out somewhere else. I wasn’t too impressed by that last one, but still, it shows what they’re all about, doesn’t it? Greeks are a little like Italians, I think. They live the good life. But unlike Italians, they’re aware of it. (Now let’s hope they survive the crisis so they can keep being awesome.)

That's right, Athens! Unmistakably Athens.

They’re also practical. This manifests itself in the frappè. Just like Italians, the Greek seem on the caffeinomanic side, but it’s way too hot drink espresso all day. Italians don’t seem to mind downing their scorching hot coffee standing up in a crowded little sweaty bar, but the Greeks like to be clean and to smell pretty when they go out to do fun stuff. So they invented the frappè, an ice cold coffee, which has all the benefits of everything that exists and none of the downsides!

The only picture I have of a frappè just now also has my travel bunny in it. But there are two frappès behind him so I get away with it.

Obviously it makes no sense to drink frappès up in the north. It’s always cold here and there really is no need to cool things down further. But the Glaswegians don’t actually seem to mind the cold (“What cold are you talking about? It’s a roasting 15 degrees out here!”) and I’ll be off to Italy for a while soon so what do I care, it’s warm down there, I can have a frappè if I want, frappès for everyone!

– a cup of water
– a little cup of espresso or otherwise two tsp of nescafé
– sugar (as much as you want)
– ice cubes

Put 2 or 3 tbsp of water in a cup, then add the espresso that you undoubtedly just made with the moka I told you ages ago to buy yourself  (or otherwise the nescafé, but then you’ll need a wee bit more water) and as much sugar as you like. Stick in one of those peculiar milk frothing devices and mix until it becomes pure foamy and fluffy. Once it is, put it in a glass that you would like to drink your frappè from and add the ice cubes (just fill up the glass) and the rest of the water (or as much as you can fit in around the ice). Add a wee bit of milk if you like. Then drink with a straw!

NB: I may have to admit, your average frappè is made with nescafé, not with espresso, so I guess you don’t have to buy that moka, but I do really like the espresso version better.

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Food, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

