Absence

I promised no more unannounced disappearances. So here’s an announced one. I’m touring Europe and Turkey on the back of a motor bike. I’m writing a couple of blog posts ahead, and by the time I publish this, I’ll be in Turkey. I’ll have seen Croatia, Bosnia, Serbia and Bulgaria. Since I won’t have time to write there, I won’t publish for a couple of weeks.

Thankfully, when I get back, I’ll have gathered lots of tasty recipes from this new and exciting part of the continent. Maybe I’ll write about Bosnian chevapchichi, to which I am looking forward very much. Or about fish stuffed with onions and cream, or other things stuffed with onions and cream, since I’ve heard that they stuff many things with cream and onions in Serbia. Or maybe I’ll learn some interesting facts about Bulgarian yoghurt (me gusta), Turkish baklava or who knows what amazing stuff I’ll pick up (hoping that it’s not some kind of parasite or subtropical disease). Until that time, you’re going to have to entertain yourself with this, a dish from Genova, my beautiful new home town (and soon to be ex-home town).

Delicious business.

Stuffed vegetables, serves four (or fewer, very hungry people):

– 2 courgettes
– 4 tomatoes
– 4 onions
– some potatoes to make mash with, enough to fill all veggies
– butter and milk, for the mash
– 1 egg
– some parmesan cheese, grated
– some basil
– some garlic, centre-plant removed
– some olive oil

Fill a large pan with water, add enough salt, bring to the boil. Wash the courgettes and the tomatoes. Cut off the ends of the courgettes, slice them in half lengthways and put them in the boiling water for about 4 minutes. Take out of the water and rinse with cold water. Cut off the tops of the tomatoes and take all of the seeds out. To prevent them from falling, cut off a tiny little slice from the bottom as well, so that they can stand upright. Cut the ends of the onions, take off the outer layers and put them in the boiling water for about 3 or 4 minutes, depending on the size. After you take them out, use a sharp, small knife to cut up the insides a bit, so you can easily remove the core and you’ve got an easily fillable shell left.

Peel the potatoes and boil them in the vegetable water. make mash like you usually do. Cut up the cores of the onions, crush or chop the garlic and gently fry in some olive oil, then add to the mash. Finely chop the basil and add to the mash, too. Add the parmesan. Don’t be stingy, add some more. Add salt and pepper. Then, finally, beat the egg in a separate bowl, and add them to the mash. Stir well straight away, mixing the egg properly with the mash. Now fill the vegetables and put them in the oven for about half an hour. Put them under the grill if you want a crusty layer.

Yeah, vegetables.

Suggestive bottle of wine and olive oil to make you want to cook this even more.

I’ll be back around the end of August. Until then, I hope you all have a lovely summer, that you will go on a holiday to some nice place where they have lots of gorgeous people and good food.

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food, Italian, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Absence

  1. Klaartje says:

    Hei VeerleBeerle! This recipe sounds lovely, I´m sure going to try this one out!
    I hope you have a great time exploring the world! :) When you get back, I’d like to visit you with Faabs.

    Hugs

    Like

  2. Fucken yes, you should :D I’d love to have you people over. Keep in touch :)

    Like

  3. Pingback: A wonderful dessert – the end | La dittatrice della cucina

Leave a Reply

