Egg in a hole

Hm, what’s that, another foodlog? Yeah, it is, but keep reading, just for a wee bit! It’ll be lots of fun. We’ll start off with something easy, we’ll get to know each other whilst casually messing about in the kitchen and before you know it, I’ll be writing about amazing and exotic dishes you’ve never even dreamed of, and you’ll be cooking them. Go on then.

A couple of months ago I was in the Netherlands. I tend to go there over the holidays to see family and friends, to catch up with people I don’t see often and all that. And for the egg-in-a-hole. Egg-in-a-hole is, I quote: the greatest drunken snack in the history of mankind. There is really no need to go to the Netherlands to eat egg-in-a-hole, anyone could make it anywhere. But some food is just better when you eat it in certain places. Sometimes the association is worth more than the actual food.

My friend Leon and I have been hitting the pubs together for years, and traditionally, after a night of steady drinking, we head to his house for food. I stand about in the kitchen for a bit, pretending to be helping, but soon I run off to the sofa to play with the cats and I let Leon do all the work. It’s OK, he’s better at making egg in a hole than I am anyway. When Leon finishes, we cover our egg-in-a-holes in cheese and sauce, and drunkenly stuff our faces. After I finish my egg-in-a-hole I usually start dozing off on the sofa, at which point Leon kicks me out. Fortunately, my house is only 3 minutes away by bicycle (aren’t we Dutch) so I can continue to snooze on my bike and then crash in my own bed, belly still full of egg-in-a-holey goodness.

An ode, then, to the holidays that are now over, and to holidays to come. To nights of pointless drinking, to the greatest drunken snack in the history of mankind. And most of all to the person who introduced us to it, who recently passed away.

Egg in a hole, for 1 person:
1 slice of bread
1 egg
sauce of your own choosing (I prefer HP)
cheese (optional)
butter or oil

materials:
one glass with yolk-sized diametre, such as a shot glass

Take a slice of bread and punch out a hole in the middle, using the glass. Don’t chuck out the circle, take it from the glass and fry it in a frying pan along with the slice of bread. Once the bread has absorbed some oil or butter, but has not yet gone crispy, break the egg and carefully pour it into the hole. The bread should absorb the white, while the yolk stays in the hole. Wait for the egg to become more or less solid, then flip. If you want cheese on it, this would be the moment to add it. Eat it with brown sauce, red sauce, any other sauce you might fancy or just some salt and pepper.

About La dittatrice

After years of being based in Glasgow, I've recently made a home for myself in Turin, Italy, for the time being, at least. This blog is my captain's log. Here I note down what I did, and what I ate. A story, then a recipe. That's how this here works. Updates on Wednesdays.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Egg in a hole

  1. Marije says:

    Wat is eigenlijk HP saus? :’)
    Moet tot mijn schande bekennen dat ik deze delicatesse nog altijd niet heb uitgeprobeerd…

    Like

    • HP kun je bijna niet uitleggen aan iemand die het nog nooit gegeten heeft. Het wordt gemaakt van (onder andere) appels, azijn en kruiden, het is een beetje zuur, een beetje zoet, maar vooral hartig. De eerste keer dat ik het at vond ik het echt vies maar inmiddels eet ik het overal bij :D

      Like

Leave a Reply

