The best thing in the world

Of all of the wonderful things that this world has to offer, cheese must be the best. Vegetables go a long way, fair enough, and alcohol, aside from having this delightful inebriating effect, tastes amazing, it’s true. Meat, if you ignore all the environmental and ethical objections, surely is the food of kings, and bread is the truest companion of all of the delicious treats mentioned above. Yet none of them can hold a candle to cheese. Cheese is just the best thing I have ever seen, heard of, or tasted.

Turin is pretty full of cheesemongers, but I have my favourite: a friendly couple who sell their delectable dairy produce at the market near my house. They know me by now, and whenever I go there for some cheese, they’ll strike up conversation. Usually they’ll want to know what I thought of the cheese I bought last time, or what I’m making, if anything, with the cheese I’m buying this time. Last time I told them it was gorgonzola and tomato quiche.

Whenever I use cheese in food (as opposed to just stuffing my face with it for no good reason before dinner) I feel like I’m cheating, because everything is delicious when it has cheese in it. But it’s just too good to leave it. I can’t resist.

cheese is a kind of meat

I milk it from my teat

For one quiche you should use:

  • four to five tomatoes
  • a nice chunk of gorgonzola – the hard, spicy type, not the mild and creamy one
  • enough puff pastry – the day I learn to make it I’ll let you know, for now I use ready-made
  • one egg
  • some dried thyme

Roll out your puff pastry and stick it in an oven dish or something like it. Slice up your tomatoes and your gorgonzola. Layer them so that between every couple of slices of tomato, there’s a slice of gorgonzola. (If you can’t be bothered, you could also just crumble it, but make sure you have some of the cheese underneath the tomato and some of it on top of the tomato).

Sprinkle a bunch of dried thyme on the filling, then beat your egg and spread it out over the filling evenly. Top with some pepper if you like, then shove it in the over, 180°C for about half an hour. Eat it straight away, or let it cool, whichever you prefer.

a tasty yellow beef

About La dittatrice

After a year in the beautiful city of Genova, I recently returned to cold, cold Scotland. Pleasantly obsessed with cooking and eating, I'd like to keep some food related memories of the past year and of any other time alive, and share them with the world while I'm at it.
This entry was posted in Baking, Food, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The best thing in the world

  1. Anonymous says:

    Ja, kaas is inderdaad wel zo ongeveer het lekkerste wat er is. Vooral gorgonzola. Toen ik je quiche zag was ik onmiddellijk door de bocht, terwijl ik altijd nogal dedaigneus over quiche doe. Zou ik dit kunnen proberen met een gewone vaders pizzabodem?

  2. Pingback: Short-term best friends | La dittatrice della cucina

Leave a Reply

